Our Story

In 1946, Rev. A.L. Hudnal preached a tent revival on the bank of Trace Creek in Waverly. The group that gathered for that revival continued to meet weekly on a seasonal basis and received its charter as a church in 1950. The first pastor was Rev. Harold (and Betty) Graves. 

After worshiping in Potter’s Shoe Shop, the Junior High School, and the Primitive Baptist Church, the building was erected at 619 East Main Street in 1957. Various expansions and property additions took place in the years following.

WCN has a rich history of faithful pastors including Harold Graves (1950-52) W. A. Layfield (1952-53), Bruce Crosby (1953-54), Larry D. Smith (1954-57), D. Moody & Nina Gunter (1957-58), Bea Atkinson (1958-59), John W. Adams (1959-73), Gerald Wilson (1974-76), Phillip Marklin (1976-78), Richard Wagoner (1978-84), Larry McGranahan (1984-98), G. Don Ballard (98-2000), Daron B. Brown (2001-___). In addition, WCN lays claim to a rich heritage of faithful, godly laypersons who have given themselves to the church over the years.

WCN has recently purchased ten acres of land on Airport Road in order to relocate and build a new facility. We are currently in the process of raising necessary funds.

We believe the story of WCN is still being written. God has called us to be co-creators, or co-authors of the future. Just as our history includes faithful, godly pastors and lay leaders, we believe we are called to be faithful and godly as we venture forward.